Newly crowned Paralympians of the Year Madison de Rozario and Ben Tudhope will appear on Australia Post stamps celebrating their incredible sporting achievements. Paralympian of the Year is the highest honour presented to an athlete by Paralympics Australia.

Wheelchair racer Madison de Rozario took home medals in three of her four events at the Tokyo 2020 Paralympic Games, her fourth Games. De Rozario won the first gold Paralympic medal for the athletics team in the Women’s 800m T53; she also won bronze in the 1500m T54 and gold in the Marathon T54.

Snowboarder Ben Tudhope, Australia’s youngest ever Winter Paralympian at 14 when competing at Sochi in 2014, was co-captain of the Australian Paralympic Team at Beijing 2022, his third Games. Tudhope won his first Paralympic Games medal when he claimed bronze in the Men’s Para-Snowboard Cross SB LL2 event at Beijing.

Paralympics Australia Chief Executive Officer Catherine Clark said the winners were judged on a range of criteria including medal success, personal bests and representation of the values and behaviours that meet the highest standards expected of Australian Paralympic athletes.

Australia’s athletes faced enormous obstacles as they prepared for the Tokyo and Beijing Games, but responded with determination, resilience and sporting excellence,” Clark said.

“Madi and Ben were outstanding representatives in and out of the arena, producing memorable performances and moments. Their outstanding leadership, grit and humanity, in the big moments, inspired all of us. I’m thrilled for Madi and Ben, and thankful to Australia Post for recognising them with these wonderful new stamps.”

Australia Post Philatelic Manager Michael Zsolt said the stamps were a fantastic way to celebrate the achievements of two of Australia’s finest athletes at the Tokyo and Beijing Paralympic Games.

“It takes an amazing effort and elite mindset to achieve such exceptional results, especially with the many disruptions and challenges athletes experienced while preparing for these two events. We’re extremely proud to represent Madison and Ben on our stamps.”


Australia Post 24/7 National Media Line 

Phone +613 9106 6666 | Email