Australia, New Zealand and Singapore acknowledged in new joint stamp issue

The 50th anniversary of bilateral relations between Singapore and Australia, and Singapore and New Zealand is marked with the release of a joint stamp issue.

Australia Post Philatelic Manager Michael Zsolt said: “This joint stamp issue has been a collaborative project between Australia Post, Singapore Post and New Zealand Post”. 

“The anniversary of bilateral relations with Singapore coincides with the world stamp expo being held in Singapore over 14–19 August. This stamp issue will be released at that time and gives collectors an opportunity to acquire a memento marking an historic occasion,” Mr Zsolt said.

Singapore gained independence from Britain in 1963, uniting with other former British territories in the region to become part of the Federation of Malaysia. Singapore became an independent nation in its own right on 9 August 1965.

Symbolising the political democracy through which Australia, New Zealand and Singapore are all governed, the parliament house of each nation is featured across the three stamp designs:

  • Parliament House, Australia was opened on 9 May 1988 and is strategically located on Canberra’s Capital Hill. The building was designed by New York-based Mitchell/Giurgola & Thorp, following an international design competition. Notable design elements include the forecourt mosaic, based on Aboriginal artist Michael Nelson Jagamara’s painting Possum and Wallaby Dreaming, and the 81-metre-high stainless-steel flag-mast that towers above the building. 
  • Parliament House, New Zealand was designed by Government Architect John Campbell after its predecessor was destroyed by fire in 1907. The adjoining “Beehive” was designed by British architect Basil Spence in 1964 and opened in 1979 addressing the space problems of the existing Parliament House. In 2015, the New Zealand Parliament marks the 150th anniversary of its relocation from Auckland to Wellington, in 1865. 
  • Parliament House, Singapore was opened on 4 October 1999. The Public Works Department designed the new seat of government, which comprises three “blocks” integrated with a restored 19th-century building. Parliament House references the built heritage of the area, while its rooftop prism is a modern interpretation of a traditional dome and its extensive use of columns a nod to classical architecture and the authority this symbolises.

Designed by Sonia Young of the Australia Post Design Studio, the stamp issue comprises one domestic base-rate (70c) and two international rate ($1.85 and $1.95) stamps.

The products associated with this stamp issue are a minisheet, first day cover, joint issue first day cover, stamp pack, joint issue stamp pack and a set of three maxicards.

Australia, New Zealand, Singapore: Joint Issue is available from 14 August 2015 at participating Post Offices, via mail order on 1800 331 794 and online at while stocks last.


Australia Post 24/7 National Media Line 

Phone +613 9106 6666 | Email